WIP Wednesday

When I first laid eyes on Petal Pinwheels I immediately fell in love. It is such a bright and whimsical line and it reminds me of springtime and blossoming gardens. Imagine my excitement when it was announced as the fabric line for the 2014 MQG fabric challenge! I was over the moon!!! Then came the tough part. What to do with it?

Seeing as how I love the fabric so much, the easy part was deciding to make something for me. Check. On my “to make” list is a deck quilt for myself. And I had the perfect quilt in mind! While visiting the quilt show in Regina, Sk earlier this month, I had purchased a quick curve ruler and the Metro Rings quilt pattern. Bingo! A match made in fabric heaven!!

20140527-233542.jpg
So I got to cutting, and sewing, and cutting curves, and more curves…. And even more curves…. I’m pretty good at cutting curves now!

20140527-233732.jpg
There we go! All ready for assembly!

20140527-233829.jpg
It turns out that piecing curves is waaaaaay easier with a quarter inch guide on. Who knew?

Eventually I got to the layout stage. I think I’ve sent Jaclyn 17 different photos of different layouts, asking for her opinion. She’s really good at humouring me! You see, I have decided not to completely stick to the pattern with this one. I have a vision for this quilt that I’ll save for the final reveal.

So for now, I’ll continue to trim these blocks…

20140527-234438.jpg

20140527-234505.jpg

What are you working on this week?

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

Leave a Reply

